The awards are open to firms operating in the UK's investment industry. Nominees can be involved in roles including but not limited to fund management, wealth management, investment research, investment analysis, marketing, sales, human resources, compliance, middle, front or back office within the investment sector.

Individual nominees must be based in the UK, with exceptions being the International Investment Woman of the Year category and Distribution Woman of the Year category which have broader remits (see category definitions for more details). The categories for fund managers are open to women managing funds that are registered for sale in the UK.

We encourage people to nominate themselves, as well as others.

Nomination rules:

  1. A person can only be nominated in a maximum of 2 categories – if they are nominated in more, we will ask them to complete questionnaires for two.
  2. Please do not nominate the same person more than once for the same category – the number of nominations they receive does not contribute to their success
  3. Each person is restricted to making no more than three nominations each (company categories not included)
  4. Women currently on maternity leave can be nominated

Please note the judges will focus on the impact entrants have made in the past 12 months in particular.


Stage 1 – Nominations (8th March to 14th April)

  • You can either nominate yourself (which we strongly encourage) or you can nominate someone else. It doesn't have to be someone you work with in the same company.
  • Men can be nominated in the category for Mentor of the Year.
  • The nomination form will just ask you for simple details about the person you are nominating so that we can reach out to them once nominations have finished. We also provide a box for you to tell us why you are nominating yourself/another person.
  • Only nominations received using the online form will be counted. We will not accept any nominations received by email.
  • Please double check you have spelt the nominee’s name and company name correctly as we use these details for the nominee lists.

Stage 2 - Entry questionnaires (24th April to 26th May)

  • Once nominations have closed, all nominees will be contacted to inform them that they have been nominated (this is why it’s important to get their contact details correct!)
  • They will be asked to complete an online questionnaire that they will be required to complete in order to progress to the next round of judging.
  • Each questionnaire will ask different questions depending on the category being entered.
  • Once the entry questionnaires have closed, they will be judged by the judging panel and a shortlist will be decided.

Stage 3 – Shortlist announced (18th September)

  • A shortlist for all categories will be announced online!
  • All successful people will be contacted regarding next stages and provided with a finalist logo

Stage 4 - Winners announced (22nd November)

  • The winners will be announced live at the awards ceremony on 22nd November at The Brewery in London.

Judges will take into account:

  • Outstanding achievements in the workplace or a particular role, especially over the past 12 months
  • Challenges faced and how they were tackled
  • Evidence of contributions to support and inspire women and improve diversity & inclusion within the sector
  • Testimonial to support the entry
  • Impact over the past 12 months at company and/or industry-wide level
  • Overall quality of submission

Please note: Only entries via the nomination system will be considered. It is up to the nominators to ensure the contact details of those being nominated are correct. The panel reserves the right to close a category should the quality of entrants be deemed too low to judge, remove an entry if in the opinion of the judges the criteria has not been followed, or suggest another more appropriate category for entrants. Chairperson's decision is final.